Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy: The Last Man in the World–Abigail Reynolds

Image

I’ll be honest.  I grabbed this book in desperation before a weekend trip out of town after coming up empty handed with three attempts in the online catalogue.  Sort of a last book in the world moment.  My library had a Jane Austen themed end cap display and this was one of the books.  I’m an Austen fiend, so I thought, what the hell, it’s embarrassing and probably awful, but it’s something for the plane and I at least like the idea of it.

The idea of it is that Elizabeth Bennet says yes to Mr. Darcy when he first proposes, but not because she is in love with him.  Could she, then, have fallen in love with him after their marriage?

This Pride and Prejudice variation (as it is styled) gives Austen fans the same misunderstandings, longing looks, hurt feelings, and built-up sexual tension that women of my kind live for.  Perfect plane reading.

It’s not a terrible book.  It’s not a great book.  It’s creative and fun and when it was over I wanted more, as always, of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. I guess that’s the best compliment an Austen fan can give.

Finished 1/24/13

Leave a Reply

