she’s all that–kristin billerbeck

I chose she’s all that because, honestly this is just embarassing, it’s part of a series called spa girls and I fantasize about going to a spa and spending time with girlfriends doing spa stuff with girlfriends.  I have no idea what that actually is, so I picked up the book.  I picked up the book and still checked it out when I saw it was “Christian chick-lit.”  I will not be checking out any further volumes in this series.

Problems:  The main character, Lilly, is ridiculously self-centered. Ridiculously.  I love me a narcissist, but this is out of control.  Her life is cursed because she has curly frizzy hair.  She has an MBA in finance from Stanford, but wants to be a fashion designer.  Her nana sold her house to finance her degree and is upset when she ends up unemployed and Lilly’s response is that she didn’t ask her to sell her house.  Seriously?  This is Christian chick-lit? 

What did I learn about Christian chick-lit from this book? 

1) Sprinkle in references to God and have a few scenes where the characters pray. 

2) Have your characters refuse to date anyone who is not  Christian, even if they’re living out Christian values.  And then have non-Christian characters act outside of those values to prove it was right to refuse to date non-Christians.

3) Your characters do not need to act out of the very values they’re demanding from others as long as they spout off about their Christianity.

4) Your characters can be completely focused on exterior signs of worth despite their repeated claimed Christianity.

Unfortunately, the characters in this book are far too much like real Christian women I know.  There is plenty of wailing and gnashing of teeth and prayer on the public square, but their private lives are not much to inspire anyone to become Christian. 

And the spa girls portion? Well, give your unemployed fashion designer wanna-be an heiress girlfriend who pays for spa weekends and sprinkle those throughout the plot and you have yourself some spa girls. 

I’ve not read any Christian chick-lit prior to she’s all that and I won’t be seeking any out because of it.  I also wouldn’t refuse it because one bad apple shouldn’t make me judge the whole barrel. 

Publisher’s Weekly called the characters “loveable.”  I hoped they checked their Christian credentials first.

Started 9/3.  Finished 9/5

Leave a Reply

